The emerging roles of glia in neurodegenerative diseases

A virtual symposium highlighting increasing knowledge about the important roles of glia in neurodegenerative disease.

Astrocyte 3 D Red 1

We would like to warmly invite you to attend a series of exciting talks and discussion groups highlighting the increasing knowledge about the important roles of glia in the context of neurodegenerative diseases.

This event will include a selection of talks from PIs across the UK and US, as well as a number of lightening talks from early career researchers in the field. We will also be hosting a range of discussion groups, aimed at increasing conversation about important topics within the community, as asked by you! This will be a great opportunity to network with other researchers interested in glial biology and neurodegenerative disease.

The event will take place on 18 November 2021 from 7 AM PST / 10 AM EST / 3 PM GMT to 11 AM PST / 2 PM EST / 7 PM GMT via Zoom.

The programme for the event can be viewed below, including talks from:
Blanca Diaz-Castro (UK DRI at Edinburgh), Nicola Allen (Salk Institute), Anna Molofsky (UCSF), and Omer Bayraktar (Sanger Institute), Philip Hasel (of Liddelow lab, NYU Langone), Philip Kitchen (of Bill Lab, Aston University), Jing Qui (UK DRI at Edinburgh).

Click here to fill out the registration form.
We ask you to propose one question or topic of interest to the field that you'd be particularly excited about hearing discussed during discussion groups!

Programme
  • 18th November

    15:00 - Introduction and welcome (hosts)

    15:15 - PI talk - Omer Bayraktar (Sanger Institute)
    15:35 - PI talk - Blanca Diaz-Castro (UK DRI at Edinburgh)
    15:55 - PI talk - Anna Molofsky (UCSF)
    16:15 - Discussion groups (4)

    16:45 - Break (15 minutes)

    17:00 - PI talk - TBD
    17:20 - ECR lightning talks (10 min + 5 min Q&A)
    • Phillip Hasel (Liddelow Lab, NYU School of Medicine)
    • Zoeb Jiwaji (UK DRI at Edinburgh)
    • Philip Kitchen (Bill Lab, Aston University)
    • Jing Qiu (UK DRI at Edinburgh)
    • TBD
    18:30 - Keynote talk - Nicola Allen (Salk Institute)

    19:00 - Thanks and networking opportunity

Slidegliainneuro

Founding funders

Latest tweets from @UKDRI

RT @AshwinVV: Widespread cell stress and mitochondrial dysfunction occur in patients with early Alzheimer's Disease 🎉Delighted to share ou…
18 Aug 2022 08:41

RT @imperialcollege: 🧠 Early warning signs that could help spot #AlzheimersDisease earlier and develop new drugs have been uncovered by #Ou
18 Aug 2022 08:13